Mr Willis Speaks – Not

Mr Willis, Assistant Director (Environment, Planning & CSC), Lincolnshire County Council, informed me of the following on Friday 9 May:

“In response to the issues raised in your email of 6 May please see below.

  1. Disability legislation – As stated in our letter dated 24 April we consider that all reasonable adjustments in accordance with the Equality Act 2010.   We did not mark the over height bays at Marsh Yard for disabled parking only as we wanted them to be available to everyone in an over height vehicle.  We will review the situation in due course. 
  2. Byelaw Not For Car Parks – As you know solicitors do not provide definitive statements only advice, therefore it is not possible to provide what you request. Once again could I refer you to the letter we sent on 16 April to which we have nothing more to add.
  3. Height Barriers – Structural Defect –The council have already provided you with a risk assessment for the barriers in communication dated 30Th January. 
  4. Height Barrier – Off Street Parking Order –As above solicitors do not provide definitive statements only advice, therefore it is not possible to provide what you request.We stated our position in communication of 16 April and then again in our letter dated 24 April.
  5. My Belief – As anglers are being issued permits to park overnight (please see attached) not to issue me one to practise my belief is most certainly breaching my human rights. Could I please request a permit to park overnight to carry out my belief?  Your request is noted and is something for discussion when we meet.”

To which I have replied:

—– Original Message —–
Sent: Sunday, May 18, 2014 6:05 PM
Subject: Huttoft Car Terrace

Dear Mr Willis,

Thank you for your email dated May 9. Unfortunately this failed to address that which I raised.

  1. Disability Legislation – Disability Legislation is most certainly not something to “review the situation in due course”. Those who are disabled should have their rights respected now. To be compliant of disability legislation the two bays at Marsh Yard require to be marked for disabled access at the earliest opportunity. Disabled parking should not be used by 4×4 vehicles with horse boxes driven by those who are not disabled.
  2. Byelaw Not For Car Parks – Mr Willis, could I please suggest you avoid playing word games, I am a seasoned campaigner and you are not only wasting your time you are insulting my intelligence. It is of no interest to me what you choose to call this – please forward a statement from the LCC solicitor stating the byelaw is for a car park. Without this statement LCC are accepting the byelaw does not apply to a car park and should be revoked immediately.
  3. Height Barriers – Structural Defect –The council have not already provided me with a risk assessment regards the pillars. If you have please forward, if not please supply as requested.
  4. Height Barrier – Off Street Parking Order – As per number 2.Mr Willis, could I please suggest you avoid playing word games, I am a seasoned campaigner and you are not only wasting your time you are insulting my intelligence. It is of no interest to me what you choose to call this – please forward a statement from the LCC solicitor stating the height barrier does not require an Off Street Parking Order to restrict access. Without this statement LCC are accepting the height barrier does require such an Order.
  5. My Belief – This is most certainly not something to put on hold. My rights exist today and should be respected today. As such I request a permit to allow me to carry out my belief.
  6. Test Case – You have declined to respond to my offer of being a “test case”. I request that you respond to this offer.

I am most willing to meet with LCC to move this situation forward as soon as LCC conduct themselves in a professional manner. This is something I still await on the evidence of our communication. Please rest assured that the meeting is most certainly in the interests of LCC as I will achieve my stated objectives with or without such a meeting. I highly recommend LCC make conditions acceptable for the meeting.

Kindest Regards,

Andy Strangeway

http://andystrangeway.wordpress.com/

“(Yorkshiremen are) richly endowed with that gritty determination, that wilful refusal to give up and that sheer bloody-mindedness that eventually prevails.” Sir Bernard Ingham

 

This entry was posted in Byelaw, Height Barriers, Huttoft Car Terrace. Bookmark the permalink.